Best AI User Research Tools in 2026, Compared

If you need to talk to real users and get themes back with the quotes attached, start with Usercall. It runs AI-moderated voice interviews. From $89 a month (starting monthly plan). Your first interview is free. Interviews run in 50+ languages. We can recruit participants for you, or you can bring your own.
This page compares tools for running that research. For newer coding and repository tools, see new AI qualitative research tools.
How to read this list
Usercall is first because you can start a study without a demo. The others are here when you need a large panel, video, or a usability suite. If a vendor does not publish a price, the line says so. Reported figures are labeled as reported.
The tools
1. Usercall
Price: From $89 a month (starting monthly plan). Your first interview is free.
Best for: teams that want to run AI-moderated voice interviews and read themes with the quotes attached.
The AI follows your guide and asks why when an answer is thin. You can edit, merge, or split themes, and each theme stays tied to the quote behind it. No sales call. See all plans.
Limit: Usercall is not a desktop QDA suite for mixed-methods matrices or a long archive of project files.
2. Listen Labs
Price: No public price. Reported in the tens of thousands of dollars, with usage billing on top.
Best for: high-volume consumer research that needs a very large recruiting panel.
Listen Labs runs AI-moderated voice and video interviews, with screen sharing for usability studies. The company advertises 50M+ reachable respondents. Access is demo-led, with no public self-serve signup.
3. Outset
Price: No public price.
Best for: enterprise research that needs broad reach across countries and modalities.
Participants can answer by video, voice, or text. Outset advertises 1.1B+ possible participants across 85+ countries, and you can bring your own list. It is sales-led, with no public self-serve trial.
4. Strella
Price: No public price.
Best for: video usability and concept testing with a built-in panel.
Interviews are video-first, with screen recording and embedded stimuli. You can use the panel or bring your own participants. A sample interview is self-serve. Full account access is demo-led.
5. Maze
Price: Self-serve free trial. A full plan price is not stated here.
Best for: teams that want interviews in the same suite as usability and prototype tests.
Maze includes an AI Moderator for interviews alongside prototype testing and surveys, plus a built-in panel. Interviews are one module in that suite, not the whole product.
6. User Intuition
Price: $30 per completed quality interview using your own participants, with no monthly fee.
Best for: planned in-depth studies around churn, purchase drivers, positioning, and concept testing.
Interviews run by voice, video, or chat, in 80+ languages, usually 20 to 30 minutes around a structured guide. You can bring participants or use a 4M+ panel across 58 countries. It is a stronger fit for planned studies than for in-product triggers.
Comparison table
| Tool | Best for | Method | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usercall | Run interviews and read themes with quotes | AI-moderated voice interviews | From $89 a month (starting monthly plan). First interview free. |
| Listen Labs | Large consumer panel | AI-moderated voice and video | No public price. Reported in the tens of thousands, plus usage. |
| Outset | Broad reach across countries | Video, voice, or text | No public price |
| Strella | Video usability and concept tests | Video interviews with a panel | No public price |
| Maze | Interviews plus usability tests | AI Moderator inside a research suite | Self-serve free trial. Full price not stated here. |
| User Intuition | Planned in-depth studies | Voice, video, and chat | $30 per completed quality interview with your own participants. No monthly fee. |
FAQ
Which AI user research tool can you start today?
Usercall. It is self-serve, with no sales call. From $89 a month (starting monthly plan). Your first interview is free.
Which of these tools publish a price?
Usercall publishes plan prices, starting at $89 a month. Listen Labs, Outset, and Strella do not publish a price. Maze offers a self-serve free trial, and a full plan price is not stated here. User Intuition publishes $30 per completed quality interview when you bring participants, with no monthly fee.
Is this the same list as the new qualitative research tools?
No. This page is for running research with real users. The other page is for newer coding, repository, and synthesis tools.
Usercall at a glance
Usercall is a self-serve AI-moderated interview platform. An AI moderator runs one-to-one voice interviews with real people, and every theme links back to the quotes behind it.
Real people, AI moderator.
Every participant is a real person. Only the interviewer is AI.
We can recruit participants for you from a 4M+ panel, or you can bring your own.
50+ languages.
Every plan includes every language.
Concept tests.
15-30+ interviews, back in 48 to 72 hours.
